email_pop up_pop




In 2012 Member States and the European Parliament agreed on the "patent package" - a legislative initiative consisting of two...

find out more

Registration Of Granted UK Or EP(UK) Patents In Various Jurisdictions Worldwide

It is possible to obtain patent protection in various jurisdictions worldwide by “reregistering” a granted United Kingdom (UK) patent or European patent (EP(UK)) which has been validated in the UK. Sometimes the local patent is called a confirmation patent or a patent of importation. The procedure provides Applicants with simple and cost-effective protection for their patent rights in jurisdictions which they might not otherwise necessarily consider including in their patent portfolios.

In general, a registration of UK national patent worldwide has to be applied for within 3 years from the date of grant of the UK patent, but there are some exceptions and we urge you to enquire with us if this may be important to you.

[As an alternative to registration of a foreign patent, some countries have independent patent systems with a mere “local novelty” requirement for patentability, although these are becoming less and less important as the information revolution conveys knowledge around the world. In such countries a local national patent application may be available if the invention still has local novelty. If this is of interest, it is important to act quickly - without waiting for the UK patent to proceed to grant - or local novelty may be destroyed by others out of your control.]

UK or EP (UK)Any foreign patent
Caribbean• Cayman Islands 
• Grenada 
• Guyana 
• Leeward Islands 
• Anguilla 
• Montserrat 
• British Virgin Islands 
• St Lucia (UK patent only)
• Turks and Caicos Islands (5 years)
• Haiti 
• Jamaica
Asia-Pacific• Brunei Darussalam (can also register patent of Malaya or Singapore)
• Fiji
• Hong Kong 
• Kiribati
• Nauru (can also register Australian or US patent)
• Solomon Islands
• Tuvalu
• Samoa 
• Nepal
Africa/Indian Ocean/Middle East• Seychelles 
• Sierra Leone 
• Zanzibar (UK patent only)
• Burundi 
• Democratic Republic of the Congo 
• Ethiopia 
• Iran 
• Kuwait 
• Rwanda
Black Sea

• Bermuda 
• Cyprus (phasing out – depends on filing date) 
• Gibraltar 
• Jersey

• Guernsey
• Falkland Islands

• St Helena 
• Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus

• Georgia

Updated December 2015.